The Card House

Livin’ la vida Card in the Little Big City!

Take the Necessary Precautions March 6, 2009

Filed under: Random — contactcards @ 5:37 pm

So quick fast forward. I am in a new job working for Winners Circle. I love it, I’m a program coordinator there. Basically, we work with getting Corporate Volunteers in to work with kids k-6th grade on setting goals for math, reading, and citizenship. However, if we don’t have enough volunteers on a particular day, then we get to fill in. Yesterday I meet one on one with kids in 6 different classrooms! My final one was a 1st grade class… I should probably back up… we had beautiful weather in Omaha yesterday, so I was wearing short sleeves. So the psoriasis on my arms is exposed, obviously I did not consider the fact that I might be working with little kids! So I walk into the class to introduce myself and before I even got my name out one little girl asked what happened to my arms, I of course do not try to go into explaining what an autoimmune disease is to a 6 year old. So I just tell them how I got the scars origonally, which is that I was bike riding and fell off my bike and skinned up my arms badly and it’s still healing. Without skipping a beat, a little boy asks me in a somewhat accusatory way “You took off your training wheels, didn’t you?” How can you not love that!?! Next time, take the necessary precautions, keep the training wheels on!

 

3 Responses to “Take the Necessary Precautions”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    wah ha ha! that’s hilarious. little kids have no mental filter – they’ll just lay it all out there, won’t they? good thing you’re good-natured about it. 🙂

  2. Jane Says:

    Ha! Laughed out loud. Thanks for sharing…always good to be able to laugh at the day.

  3. Sarah Koenig Says:

    that is so adorable!! i love the things that come out of the mouths of little kids.. 🙂


Leave a Reply

